Filled with Pride…and bananas!

Ken Mcmeikan, Greggs Chief Executive writes:

Wow, what a special day yesterday was! The team at Treforest Bakery did a remarkable job in preparing a magnificent send off and even managed to organise bright sunshine and temperatures of 22 degrees.

As the enthusiastic cyclists, all in their white riding shirts, set off in a line I just felt the most enormous sense of pride and appreciation for our people. They are wonderful and those who weren’t joining us on a bike were cheering and encouraging us on so brilliantly that you just felt you mustn’t let them down.

As we gently set off on the bikes laughing and joking about the challenge ahead the severity of the first hill hadn’t really dawned on us. Needless to say the reality of the bike ride really sunk in half way up the steep first hill when the heart rate had rocketted and the lungs were screaming to stop!

Having conquered the first hill though and eaten a banana (Richard having told us to eat little and often or else!) I felt re-energised and full of belief that I could complete the whole first leg to Bristol. After 37 miles the sight of the bridge leading us back into England was like “an oasis in the desert” and as a Scotsman I’d never have thought I’d be saying that! but with the bridge in sight and the wind behind our backs pushing us on we finally made it for a photocall on the bridge.

At this point a number of the riders had completed their personal challenges and left a small core of riders to complete the final 12 miles to Bristol. It was a moment of mixed feelings – shared joy that we’d all made it to the bridge but sad that we were now saying goodbye to our cycling comrades!

Unfortunately for me this now meant that the cycling machine that is Robin Leaver decided it was time we accelerated the pace and whilst Scott and I desperately tried to stay with Robin he went so fast that all three of us missed a vital turning and cycled on for 2 or 3 miles before the support car came hurtling after us and told us we’d gone the wrong way! Not the news we wanted to hear but I’d already had another banana so at least the energy levels were still high even if momentarily the spirit was low.

We turned back, got on the right road and tried to catch the others up! Richard, being the gentleman and great support that he always is had waited for us a few miles on but as we cycled towards him he did have that look on his face that you see from time to time that says “I know I am smiling and saying to you it doesn’t matter that you went the wrong way BUT you are a load of wallies!” So off we went with only 3 miles left to go and I have to admit it was the longest 3 miles ever!

Finally we arrived at the finish line to be greeted byRichard’s warm, smiling MUM and DAD two of the nicest people you are ever likely to meet. I told them what a wonderful son they have and that he has inspired us all to undertake the Great Bakery Bike Ride and that we were all proud of him. What I didnt say was that my back, my legs, my neck, my wrists and a couple of other parts of my anatomy were not so thankful! 

I said to Robin and Richard as I parted for my car that I wasn’t going to wish them good luck because I know they don’t need it. They are both in great shape and I know they can do the full distance. What I did say was that I simply wanted them to look after themselves and each other and that I would see them in Leeds next Wednesday for the next leg that I would be joining them on – GOD HELP ME!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment